top of page

Reflection

Grant Collier

Day 5 Reflection

Today we had the distinct pleasure to visit the Anne Spencer museum house. What a

spectacular experience. They definitely weren’t lying when they said the house was eclectic!

Such a creative and interesting way to live, it’s no surprise she was such an influential person

and poet.

We were asked to create a lesson plan that we could implement after bringing our

students to the museum on a field trip. For math it took me a while to come with something

creative enough to be interesting that directly relates to the museum, and in think this I found

my answer!

In my quest for something related, I chose related itself! In calculus there is a

particularly difficult to grasp concept called related rates where in students use mathto student

and predict growth and change. This is very often used in applied mathematics as when

researching how things change over time and effects of this. It can also be used for

optimization, for instance making the biggest cube possible from 20 yards of fabric.

“Stem”ming from this idea, I would love to conduct a lesson where students and I

worked to optimize the garden in a mathematical sense. Accounting for the permanent

fountain would make for a very interesting problem, and being actually on site would bring the

mathematics to life!

Presenting my behavior management lesson tomorrow! Very excited to bring all my

peers into Mr. Collier’s high school algebra class!

bottom of page